LittleMonkey has just gone to bed (at last) and I’m sat wondering if I have completely lost the plot…

Tomorrow we get the keys to our new house. Moving with an 8 month old shouldn’t be too bad (so I am told) but we appear to have accidentally bought  a major renovation project. I’m all for a bit of hard work and I’m not afraid of getting my hands dirty, but considering most days I struggle to put LittleMonkey down long enough to have a wee I’m wondering if I might be biting off more than I can chew with this one!

This seems to be the theme of my maternity leave actually considering I thought it would be a great idea to spend my year “off” raising my first child and completing a Masters degree. It turns out that my utopian view of what maternity leave would be like was pretty inaccurate. I had imagined cake baking, reading, language learning, long walks with LittleMonkey and LittleHound and lots of time to catch up on my endless “I’ll finish that one day” projects (the degree being one of them!) I guess that I’ve sort of succeeded with language learning if you count the exchanges of grunts and nods between my husband and I when we are both too tired to string a sentence together…

I kind of had Italian in mind!

 

 

Leave a comment